Skip to content

Best HSK Vocabulary Apps in 2026 (HSK 3.0 Lists Compared)

Of 7 HSK vocabulary apps, 3 have lists from the 2026 HSK 3.0 syllabus: Pleco, Hack Chinese and Tomaru. Free plans, ads and US prices as of Oct 2026.

  • HSK
  • HSK 3.0
  • HSK vocabulary
  • Chinese vocabulary app
  • spaced repetition

The new HSK syllabus, published in November 2025 and in effect since July 2026, lists 11,000 words, from 300 at HSK 1 to 5,400 by HSK 6, and the first exam in the new HSK 3.0 format is on December 13, 2026. Apps with built-in HSK lists include Pleco (2026 HSK 3.0 cards; free dictionary, $9.99 flashcard add-on; no ads; iOS, Android), Hack Chinese (2026 HSK 3.0 lists; 21-day free trial, then from $12 a month; ads not stated; browser only), HSKLord (HSK 1–9 lists from the 2021 standard; 10 new cards a day free; no ads; iOS, Android, web), Skritter (HSK 2.0 and 2021 HSK 3.0 decks for handwriting; select decks free; no ads; iOS, Android, web), Migii HSK (HSK 1–6 lists and mock tests; partly free; ads; iOS, Android, web) and Tomaru (2026-syllabus decks, 10,967 words; core features free; no ads; iOS, Android). Anki has no lists of its own and relies on free shared decks, so check which HSK version a deck follows. Which one fits depends on what else you need: handwriting (Skritter), dictionary lookups (Pleco), mock tests (Migii HSK) or 2026 lists that schedule reviews for you (Hack Chinese, Tomaru).

Last checked October 25, 2026. Written by the Tomaru team. Tomaru is one of the apps compared, and facts about the other apps come from their official websites and app store listings.

How many words do you need for the new HSK?

The official HSK Syllabus (中文水平考试 HSK 考试大纲), published by the Center for Language Education and Cooperation in November 2025 and in effect since July 2026, lists every word with its level (syllabus PDF). The counts are cumulative, so HSK 4 expects all 2,000 words of HSK 1 to 4.

LevelNew wordsTotal by this levelTomaru deck
HSK 1300300HSK 1–2, 497 words
HSK 2200500Same deck as HSK 1
HSK 35001,000HSK 3, 499 words
HSK 41,0002,000HSK 4, 997 words
HSK 51,6003,600HSK 5, 1,595 words
HSK 61,8005,400HSK 6, 1,794 words
HSK 7–95,60011,000HSK 7–9, 5,585 words

Many apps and older lists still follow HSK 2.0 (5,000 words by HSK 6) or the 2021 standard (11,092 words, with 500 at HSK 1). A list with 300 words at HSK 1 and 11,000 in total is the 2026 one; for the side-by-side numbers, see HSK 3.0 vocabulary by level.

The first exam in the new HSK 3.0 format is on Sunday, December 13, 2026. Registration closes on November 16 for the paper-based test and December 3 for the internet-based test, Beijing time (announcement).

HSK 1–6 ran on 11 dates in 2026, and HSK 7–9 has its own internet-based sittings, the next on November 22, 2026 (2026 test calendar). The 2027 calendar hasn't been published yet.

Which apps have HSK vocabulary lists built in?

AppBuilt-in HSK list (size)What's freeAds (store label)How reviews are scheduledPlatformsPaid (US, Oct 2026)
AnkiNone; free user-made HSK decks (versions vary)Everything on desktop, Android and webNoSM-2 by default; FSRS optional since 23.10Windows, Mac, Linux, Android, iOS, webiPhone/iPad app $24.99 once
PlecoPremade HSK cards, incl. the 2026 HSK 3.0 list (added 2026)Dictionaries; the full Flashcard System is paidNoSRS in the Flashcard SystemiOS, AndroidFlashcard System $9.99 once; bundles $29.99 / $59.99
Hack ChineseHSK 3.0 (2026) lists for all nine levels, plus older HSK lists21-day free trial, no credit card neededNot stated (browser only)Its own spaced-repetition algorithmBrowser (no app)$12/mo billed yearly, or $18/mo
HSKLordHSK 1–9 lists built on the 2021 standard (10,978 words), plus HSK 2.0 lists7-day full trial, then 10 new cards a dayNoSpaced repetition; you rate each card Again, Hard, Good or EasyiOS, Android, web$12/mo or $79/yr on the web
SkritterHSK 2.0 decks (HSK 1–6) and HSK 3.0 decks from the 2021 standard; 2026 lists in preparationSelect decks; review mode needs PremiumNoSpaced repetition; hard characters come back more ofteniOS, Android, web$9.99–$14.99/mo or $99.99–$119.99/yr
Migii HSKHSK 1–6, 10,000+ words; listing says "HSK 3.0 is now available"1 mock test a day for HSK 1–4; theory lessons need PremiumYesFlashcards and spaced-repetition exercisesiOS, Android, web$26.49/yr or $42 lifetime
TomaruSix decks from HSK 1–2 to 7–9, 10,967 words, 2026 syllabusCore features: cards, lists, reviews, scheduling, statsNoFSRS for each word, automatic; no settingsiOS, AndroidOptional plan for AI extras

Prices come from each app's official site or the US App Store. "Ads" follows the Google Play and App Store labels for the free version. FSRS (Free Spaced Repetition Scheduler) is an open-source algorithm that predicts when you're likely to forget each card and schedules the review just before that.

ConditionAnkiPlecoHack ChineseHSKLordSkritterMigii HSKTomaru
Full HSK list freeYes (shared decks; iPhone app $24.99)No ($9.99 add-on)No (21-day trial)Yes, at 10 new cards a dayPartlyPartlyYes
No ads labelYesYesNot statedYesYesNoYes
Automatic review scheduling for each wordYesYes (paid add-on)YesYesYes (Premium)YesYes
iOS and Android appsYesYesNoYesYesYesYes
Lists from the 2026 syllabusNo built-in listYesYesNo (2021 standard)Not yetNot statedYes
Study on the web or a computerYesNoYesYesYesYesNo

Three apps have lists from the 2026 syllabus: Pleco, inside its $9.99 flashcard add-on; Hack Chinese, in the browser after a 21-day trial; and Tomaru, free with no ads on iOS and Android. HSKLord is free at 10 new cards a day but follows the 2021 standard. Five of the seven work on the web or a computer, all except Pleco and Tomaru.

Two popular Chinese apps are built around lessons and reading rather than word lists:

  • HelloChinese is a game-style course organized by HSK level, with speaking and handwriting practice; Premium is $11.99 a month, $25.99 for three months or $69.99 a year in the App Store.
  • Du Chinese offers graded stories, including HSK-aligned content, with a built-in dictionary and flashcards; you can start free, and an upgrade unlocks 3,000+ articles, stories and courses.

How long until the HSK, and how many words a day?

Count back from your test date and keep the last two weeks for review only. HSK 1–6 runs most months, so the table pairs the December 13 test with lead times you can use for a 2027 date.

StartTestDays for new wordsHSK 1–2 (497)HSK 3 (499)HSK 4 (997)HSK 5 (1,595)HSK 6 (1,794)
Nov 1, 2026Dec 13, 20262818 a day18 a day36 a day57 a day65 a day
12 weeks beforeA 2027 test708 a day8 a day15 a day23 a day26 a day
24 weeks beforeA 2027 test1544 a day4 a day7 a day11 a day12 a day

The new-word window runs from your start date to two weeks before the test, and daily targets are rounded up. Each column is one level's deck; going from HSK 3 straight to HSK 5 means adding both HSK 4 and HSK 5. HSK 7–9 (5,585 words) works out to 37 new words a day over 24 weeks.

Regular reviews are what make new words stick. Across 317 experiments, people who spread the same study over separate sessions averaged 47.3% on later tests, against 36.7% for one block of study (Cepeda et al., 2006). Students who kept testing themselves on 40 Swahili–English word pairs after getting them right recalled about 80% a week later, against about a third for those who stopped once correct (Karpicke & Roediger, 2008).

Tomaru's anonymized learning data (internal data, not a peer-reviewed study) points to two patterns: a word takes about three exposures, including the first, to stick, and words differ a lot in difficulty. That's why per-word schedulers bring hard words back sooner and let easy ones wait.

In Tomaru, choosing your test date shows how many new words a day you need, roughly how many minutes that takes and the day you'll finish. The default aim is to remember about 90% of the words on test day, which is a target rather than a promise.

What's free, and which platforms does each app support?

  • Anki: free on Windows, Mac, Linux, Android and the web, with no ads; the iPhone and iPad app is $24.99 once.
  • Pleco: the dictionaries are free with no ads on iOS and Android; the full Flashcard System, with SRS and premade HSK cards, is a $9.99 one-time add-on.
  • Hack Chinese: runs in any browser, with a 21-day free trial and no credit card needed, then $12 a month billed yearly or $18 monthly; there's no native app yet.
  • HSKLord: free on iOS, Android and the web at 10 new cards a day after a 7-day full trial; unlimited study is $12 a month or $79 a year.
  • Skritter: select decks are free on iOS, Android and the web with no ads; review mode and all decks need Premium.
  • Migii HSK: free with ads on iOS, Android and the web, with one mock test a day for HSK 1–4; Premium unlocks theory lessons and the full exercise bank.
  • Tomaru: cards, built-in lists, reviews, scheduling and stats are free forever with no ads on iOS and Android; AI extras are part of an optional paid plan, and the website lets you preview every list.

Which HSK vocabulary app should you choose?

If you want…Choose
Full control over cards and scheduling, free on desktop and AndroidAnki
A dictionary whose lookups become HSK flashcardsPleco
2026 HSK lists with spaced repetition on a computer or in a browserHack Chinese
A free daily allowance across HSK 1–9 on phone and webHSKLord
Handwriting practice for every characterSkritter
Mock tests next to your word listsMigii HSK
2026-syllabus decks with automatic reviews and nothing to set upTomaru
A full course or graded readingHelloChinese, Du Chinese

Tomaru focuses on vocabulary, so for grammar or conversation courses and full mock tests, pair it with an app such as HelloChinese or Migii HSK. Anki gives you more freedom over card formats and scheduling settings, and Tomaru runs only on iOS and Android.

FAQ

Are HSK vocabulary apps free?

Some are free for vocabulary study. Anki is free on Windows, Mac, Linux, Android and the web (its iPhone app is $24.99), HSKLord is free at 10 new cards a day, and Tomaru, a vocabulary app for iOS and Android, keeps its 10,967-word HSK decks, reviews and scheduling free with no ads. Pleco's dictionary is free but its full flashcards cost $9.99 once, and Hack Chinese costs $12 a month billed yearly after a 21-day trial (US prices, October 2026).

Do the free versions have limits?

It depends on the app. Tomaru, a vocabulary app for iOS and Android, puts no paid limits on cards, reviews, built-in lists, scheduling or stats, and HSKLord's free plan allows 10 new cards a day across all levels. Migii HSK's free web plan allows one mock test a day for HSK 1–4, Skritter keeps review mode for Premium, and Hack Chinese is a 21-day trial.

Which HSK apps work on iPhone and Android?

Pleco, HSKLord, Skritter, Migii HSK, Anki and Tomaru, a vocabulary app for iOS and Android, all have iPhone and Android apps; Anki's iPhone app costs $24.99, while its Android app is free. Hack Chinese has no native app yet but works in a phone browser.

How do HSK vocabulary apps compare with Anki?

Mostly in setup and list version. With Anki you pick a user-made HSK deck, check whether it follows HSK 2.0, the 2021 standard or the 2026 syllabus, and switch on FSRS yourself (available since version 23.10). Tomaru, a vocabulary app for iOS and Android, comes with 2026-syllabus decks and schedules each word with FSRS automatically, while Pleco and Hack Chinese also ship 2026 lists with their own spaced repetition.

Should I study the HSK 2.0, 2021 or 2026 word list?

For a test from December 13, 2026, the first sitting in the new HSK 3.0 format, study the 2026 syllabus list. It has 300 words at HSK 1 and 11,000 in total, against 150 at HSK 1 in HSK 2.0 and 500 at HSK 1 (11,092 in total) in the 2021 standard. Pleco, Hack Chinese and Tomaru, a vocabulary app for iOS and Android, have 2026 lists, while HSKLord's study lists and Skritter's current HSK 3.0 decks follow the 2021 standard.

Is learning the word list enough to pass the HSK?

No. The 2026 syllabus sets out tasks, topics, characters and grammar for each level as well as vocabulary (syllabus PDF), so the words are the base, not the whole test. Pair a vocabulary app with grammar study, graded reading and timed practice in the new format, such as the HSK 3.0 demo on Chinese Testing International's site.

How many HSK words should I learn a day?

Divide the new words at your level by the days left, minus two weeks for review. Starting November 1 for the December 13, 2026 test, HSK 3's 499 words come to 18 a day and HSK 4's 997 to 36; with 24 weeks before a 2027 test, they drop to 4 and 7. Tomaru, a vocabulary app for iOS and Android, works this out from your test date, along with roughly how many minutes a day it takes.

More comparisons

For vocabulary apps beyond the HSK, see our comparison of 12 vocabulary apps or browse all Tomaru word lists. Studying Japanese or Korean too? Compare JLPT vocabulary apps and TOPIK vocabulary apps.

Start learning

Tomaru is a free vocabulary app with no ads in the core learning flow, using FSRS spaced repetition to move words into long-term memory.